Boiling.

I’m thankful to live in the USA. I am. There are just days when I am fed up with the backwardness of this country. Like today.

Gay marriage, for one. If you don’t like it, don’t get gay married. If it has any effect on your marriage, you need counseling. The people who seem to talk about homosexuals as if they’re not people are the ones who have put way too much time into thinking about gay sex. Rick Santorum, for example. No, it shouldn’t be left up to the states. If gay marriage is a voteable right, straight marriage should be as well. You shouldn’t have to decide where to live based on if that state recognizes your partner.

Abortion. Again, don’t like it, don’t have one. I wrote about mine in another post. I got it in NC before the laws got strengthened. It was an easy process to get an appointment, and I was lucky. Women are still dying in this country from botched abortions given by people who aren’t licensed to do so. Women like me carry around the stigma of having an abortion. The only people who know are my husband, a handful of friends, and my lovely blog readers. I will never tell my parents. There’s a woman in Texas who is dead, being kept alive by machines because she is pregnant. The fetus is showing signs of major deformities, still they keep life support going. This should not be happening in this day and age. Nasim Pedrad said it best, that if men could get pregnant, abortions would be readily available and birth control would have flavors.

The way this nation has treated veterans is abominable. The VA is a black hole from which nothing escapes, and nothing is really being done about it. Don’t even get me started on the defense budget. When the military is throwing out brand new desks at the end of the fiscal year, you know they have money to burn. The budget just needs to be revised, go more to actual defense, the troops, and less waste.

I feel slightly better. Rant over.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 101 other followers

