Just Keep Swimming. Unless There’s a 300 Pound Weight on Your Fin.

I’m prefacing this blog with a  pseudo apology.  I rarely rant/whine about my personal life. However. It’s been a long two months.

I don’t want to refer to myself as a single parent, because I am not. I am the only caregiver, and I keep things running. But, I don’t have to worry about employment, how to pay the bills, etc., because my husband is working. He’s just not here right now.

I was doing okay, mostly.  I found a suitable daycare for my son, I was accomplishing what I needed to, the two days/4 hours he was there. It was moving along swimmingly. Then the daycare became a inhospitable environment. He was acting out a lot at home, starving all the time. That’s what happens when someone doesn’t feed your kid lunch. So I pulled him out.

I’ve met with 5 potential nanny types since then. I am not comfortable with any of them. I went by the base regulated childcare.  I didn’t get a good feeling about that place either.  So, I’ve been juggling only having a break when he sleeps with full time school, laundry, housework, etc.  It’s safe to say my house is a disaster zone. I can pretty much only manage to keep the bathrooms and kitchen clean. Laundry piles everywhere. I know, my life is so hard.

My parents were supposed to visit this month. My dad has been traveling a lot for work and didn’t want to make the long drive here, which I completely understand. Except now, he wants me to fly in. Which I can’t even begin to fathom or organize in my mind right now. I only have a week break til next semester. I was going to take it off, but my financial aid is already set. I do want to visit. It would be a nice break. It’s just too much now, and I wish my parents would just drive down.

All my friends who lived here aren’t around anymore. Everyone’s gone. My dad keeps telling me to go meet new people, (HA) and I have zero energy for that. I’m tired, I’m lonely, I’m worn out.

And my husband is gallivanting around the Mediterranean for another several months.

Tequila please.

Leave a comment